About

Merge Records was started in the summer of 1989, by Laura Ballance & Mac McCaughan, the same summer they formed the band Superchunk in Chapel Hill, NC. The first couple releases were cassettes (remember those?), by WWAX and Bricks, followed by the first Superchunk (then known only as "Chunk") 7-inch single.

The vinyl 7-inch was the format of choice for the first 3 years of the label, with cash borrowed from friends to finance projects (including singles from Erectus Monotone, Angels of Epistemology, and more Superchunk) and bedrooms serving as Merge HQ until 1992, when the first Merge full-length release, Tossing Seeds by Superchunk, was released on CD, LP, and cassette. Since '92 Merge moved from one charming-yet-run-down office to another until 2001, when we finally made the move from Chapel Hill down the road to a fine old building all our own in historic Downtown Durham, NC.

In 2014 Merge Records is celebrating its 25th birthday, and while our roster has changed, rotated, permutated and expanded over the last 25 years, the quality we look for in records as fans is still there in the music we put out on Merge.

Thanks for listening!

Contacts

Mailorder Questions
See the FAQ, or email
mailorder@mergerecords.com

Radio
radio@mergerecords.com

National & Regional Press
Christina Rentz: christina@mergerecords.com

Retail
retail@mergerecords.com

Foreign Licensing
Adam Jackson: adam@mergerecords.com

Tv & Film Licensing
Bank Robber Music: info@bankrobbermusic.com

General Information
merge@mergerecords.com