Archers of Loaf "Vee Vee" reissue scheduled for February

Archers of Loaf

On February 21, Merge will reissue Archers of Loaf’s sophomore release, Vee Vee, on dbl-CD, LP and digital download.

Remastered by Bob Weston and featuring new liner notes by MAGNET magazine editor Eric Miller, physical copies of Vee Vee will include sixteen bonus tracks and new cover art re-imagined by graphic artist Jay Ryan. Reissues of All the Nation’s Airports and White Trash Heroes will follow later in 2012.

The first full-length produced by Bob Weston, Vee Vee was a slight departure from the previous bombastic noisepop that characterized Archers of Loaf’s previous work, and it proved that the band wasn’t just a flash in the pan. The album became their best-selling album to date and landed them on the covers of most fanzines and at the top of college radio charts across the country. “Harnessed in Slums” and “Greatest of All Time” became anthems of the underground and led to successful tours with the Flaming Lips and Weezer.

Listen to "Harnessed in Slums" from Vee Vee below and watch Eric Bachmann's "One Track Mind" episode on The AV Club to hear the story behind "Web in Front."

Archers of Loaf - Harnessed in Slums by Merge Records

Pre-order Vee Vee on dbl-CD or limited-edition mossy green LP now in the Merge store and receive an email download of the remastered original album. Also available in the Merge store are limited-edition “Team Loaf” pennants re-created from the original design. Don’t forget . . . the Merge Holiday Code works on pre-orders, too!

Archers of Loaf intend to play several more shows internationally including the Primavera Festival in Spain May 30-June 3 and to perform a wider variety of songs on limited dates throughout the end of 2012.

Vee Vee track listing:
Disc 1 -
1. Step into the Light
2. Harnessed in Slums
3. Nevermind the Enemy
4. Greatest of All Time
5. Underdogs of Nipomo
6. Floating Friends
7. 1985
8. Fabricoh
9. Nostalgia
10  Let the Loser Melt
11. Death in the Park
12. The Worst Has Yet to Come
13. Underachievers March and Fight Song

Disc 2 -
1.       Harnessed in Slums ’95 (Bob Weston Radio Mix, 1995)
2.       Telepathic Traffic (“Harnessed in Slums” single, Alias, 1995)
3.       Don’t Believe the Good News (“Harnessed in Slums” single, Alias, 1995)
4.       Smoking Pot in the Hot City (7” single, Esther, 1995)
5.       Mutes in the Steeple (7” single, Esther, 1995)
6.       Mark Price P.I. (out of print)
7.       Bacteria (The Speed of Cattle, Alias, 1996)
8.       Equinox (unreleased) (J. Coltrane)
9.       (Big Joe and) Phantom 309 (out of print) (T. Faile)
10.    1985 (Marathon Boombox Demo)
11.    Fabricoh (Marathon Boombox Demo)
12.    Nostalgia (Marathon Boombox Demo)
13.    Let the Loser Melt (Vee Vee 4-Track Demo)
14.    Underdogs of Nipomo (Vee Vee 4-Track Demo)
15.    Nevermind the Enemy (Vee Vee 4-Track Demo)
16.    Don’t Believe the Good News (Vee Vee 4-Track Demo)