Eleanor Friedberger announces new album, Personal Record, in stores June 4

Eleanor Friedberger announces new album, Personal Record, in stores June 4

Eleanor Friedberger will release her second solo album, Personal Record, on June 4, 2013, in the US and June 10 in the UK and Europe on Merge Records.

Personal Record is the follow-up to Friedberger’s critically acclaimed solo debut, Last Summer.

Stream "Stare at the Sun" via SoundCloud and YouTube or download it at

At a time when most female singer-songwriters perform as alter egos, Eleanor Friedberger is simply, refreshingly herself. And that’s just the way her fans like it. Having spent the last decade fronting the indie-rock institution The Fiery Furnaces (currently on hiatus) with her brother Matthew, in 2011 she emerged as a formidable solo artist with Last Summer, a thoughtfully crafted tale of memory and place couched in the organic pop of her ’70s idols. Instantly, Friedberger established herself as a modern-day heir to the tradition of Donovan, Todd Rundgren, Ronnie Lane, and their ilk: warm, nuanced, timeless songs. No gimmicks necessary.

The title of Friedberger’s sophomore album is Personal Record, and it is, in a sense. Personal, that is. But not personal in the way of, say, a coming-of-age record, or a diary about the past, which Last Summer was. Many of the songs seem to be about love, or love lost, but whether any of the experience is hers or someone else’s, she isn’t saying. “It’s not as specific a narrative this time,” she says. “There’s a universality to it.” So incisive are the lyrics, in fact, that Friedberger’s bassist incorrectly assumed that two of the songs were about him. “I loved that,” she says. “I want him to feel like the songs are about him. I want you to feel like the songs are about you.”

Personal Record is available now for pre-order digitally at iTunes and on CD and LP in the Merge store. Watch Eleanor's album trailer set in beautiful Jamaica, too!

Personal Record track listing:
1. I Don’t Want to Bother You
2. When I Knew
3. I’ll Never Be Happy Again
4. Stare at the Sun
5. Echo or Encore
6. My Own World
7. Tomorrow Tomorrow
8. You’ll Never Know Me
9. I Am the Past
10. She’s a Mirror
11. Other Boys
12. Singing Time