King Khan & the Shrines News

I spy: King Khan & the Shrines' "Land of the Freak" all over the World Cup

Do you have World Cup fever? Join the club. Perhaps you have King Khan & the Shrines fever too after watching David Beckham, Zinedine Zidane, Lucas Moura, and Gareth Bale play a friendly match in a lovely home while soundtracked by "Land of the Freak":

"Land of the Freak" can be found on What Is?! by King Khan & the Shrines. As announced last week, the album is available now on iTunesAmazon MP3, and Spotify.

Margaret Cho added to Merge 25 Festival, Duke series starts Tuesday!

Comedian Margaret Cho has been added as the official MC of the Merge 25 Festival on Saturday, July 26!  

Cho could be called “Queen of all Media,” conquering film, television, books, and theatre, with Grammy nominations, sold-out tours, and off-Broadway and TV shows under her belt. Equally as important are the causes she is passionate about. Margaret is widely recognized for her charitable work with gay rights and anti-bullying campaigns.

Margaret recently had Bob Mould on her podcast Monsters of Talk to discuss his new album Beauty & Ruin. Take a listen to the Bob Mould episode here.

Tickets for the Saturday show are still on sale via Cat's Cradle, so don't wait! Limit 4 tickets per customer. 

Also, on June 5th we'll celebrate 25 years with help from the Durham Bulls! Mac will throw out the ceremonial first pitch, and Heather from Mount Moriah will sing the national anthem. Learn more and get tickets here!

  More >

King Khan & the Shrines on tour in the US now

This week, King Khan & the Shrines embark on a massive tour beginning at Chaos in Tejas and kicking off the Merge 25 summer series with Duke Performances on Tuesday, June 3! Don't miss this rare chance to wail, testify, and celebrate with the Maharaja of Soul. 

See the full list of dates below, and check out their epic video for "Born to Die" from Idle No More, available on CD, LP and digital now in the Merge store.

  More >

Merge 25: Duke Performances Concert Series Announced!

Merge Records continues its 25th anniversary celebration this summer by teaming up with Duke Performances for their popular Music in the Gardens series. Taking place throughout the months of June and July, the series invites local bands and musicians in the national spotlight to play at various venues on the Duke University campus. This year, they have extended that reach to include artists on neighboring Durham-based label Merge Records.

Among the Merge artists slated to appear at Duke’s Baldwin Auditorium are Lambchopperforming their iconic album Nixon front to backin addition to William Tyler, Mount Moriah, Stephin Merritt, and Mark Eitzel. The historic venue has recently reopened after a two-year renovation and will serve as the perfect backdrop for these special shows.

For family-friendly outdoor concerts, join Merge artists King Khan & the Shrines, the newly signed Spider Bags, The Rosebuds, Richard Buckner, and Portastatic for the Music in the Gardens series. These shows will take place in the beautiful Sarah P. Duke Gardens. Lawn chairs, blankets, and picnics are encouraged for these performances, and food and beverages will also be available for purchase.

  More >

2013 Year End Lists: Simon Wojan, King Khan & the Shrines

Top 10 Albums:
1. Danny Brown - Old
2. William Tyler - Impossible Truth
3. Hailu Mergia & His Classical Instrument
4. Colin Stetson - New History Warfare Vol. 3: To See More Light
5. Dirty Beaches - Drifters / Love Is The Devil
6. Wolf Eyes - No Answer: Lower Floors
7. Chuck Johnson - Crows In The Basilica
8. Earl Sweetshirt - Doris
9. The Haxan Cloak - Excavation
10. Cakes Da Killa - The Eulogy

  More >

King Khan & The Shrines announce "Idle No More" for September release

On September 3, King Khan & The Shrines will release Idle No More, their Merge debut. Six years since the release of King Khan & The Shrines last album, What Is!?, Idle No More is full of sweat-drenched, ass shaking, groovy, psyched-out numbers, complete with rip roaring horn lines, southern fried guitar riffs and lysergic melodies. 

  More >