Filter by Artist

Tracey Thorn covers The xx on new EP

In the summer of 2010, Mercury Prize winners (and Everything But The Girl fans) The xx asked Tracey Thorn and her long-time partner in EBTG Ben Watt to record a track from The xx’s debut album for a special compilation the band was commissioning of covers of the album’s songs by their favorite artists.   More >

Hospitality to release Merge debut on January 31!

Merge will release the self-titled debut album from Brooklyn's Hospitality on January 31. Formed in 2007, Hospitality has evolved from a bedroom project to a 4-piece collaborative group opening for bands such as Stereolab, Wild Flag and The Rosebuds.   More >

Wild Flag’s debut album in stores, win a trip to New York City!

The highly anticipated self-titled debut album from Wild Flag, the 4-piece Portland, OR- and Washington, DC-based rock group including Carrie Brownstein, Mary Timony, Rebecca Cole and Janet Weiss, is in stores today! Featuring members of Sleater-Kinney, Quasi, Helium, the Minders and Stephen Malkmus & the Jicks to name just a few, Wild Flag premiered with a tour of small west coast rock clubs in the fall of 2010.   More >

Deluxe reissue of Superchunk's "Foolish" out today!

Merge has reissued Superchunk’s landmark 1994 album Foolish, and it's available today on CD, LP, and digital download. Foolish has been remastered for this reissue and will feature some different album art and extensive liner notes by drummer Jon Wurster.   More >

Welcome, Hospitality!

We are pleased to announce the addition of Hospitality to the Merge family! The band’s debut full-length will be released on Merge in early 2012. The angular, intricate, and intelligent compositions of Hospitality signal a sophisticated new pop voice.   More >

Destroyer debuts new video for "Savage Night at the Opera"

Directed by David Galloway, Destroyer's new music video takes you on a nerve-wracking ride through the streets of Vancouver and is the first that features Dan Bejar in the clip! Go to to view, or watch below. Kaputt is in stores on CD, double-LP, and digital download now!   More >

The Music Tapes on tour with The Olivia Tremor Control!

The Music Tapes are currently opening for The Olivia Tremor Control! Don’t miss the live full-band Music Tapes experience! Purim’s Shadows, the new digital EP from The Music Tapes, is available now in the Merge store and from all your favorite digital outlets.   More >

Stream new Eleanor Friedberger sessions, catch her on the west coast!

On August 24, Eleanor Friedberger visited the Upright Citizens Brigade Theater for a very special WFMU program, Seven Second Delay! You can now stream the performance, along with appearances by Wyatt Cenac and David Carr, on You can also listen to her archived World Cafe radio session on now. During a recent stop in her hometown of Chicago, Eleanor recorded a takeaway session with Paste which was filmed in one of her favorite guitar shops.   More >

Listen to Richard Buckner & David Kilgour's archived KEXP sessions now!

Richard Buckner & David Kilgour are currently on the road together in support of their new releases, Our Blood and Left by Soft! Don’t miss this opportunity to see two legendary songwriters and guitar “gods” share the stage! David Malitz of the Washington Post writes, "The new Left by Soft is his seventh album and solidifies his status as an unlikely guitar god." Read the interview with David Kilgour interview here.   More >

Stephin Merritt's "Obscurities" in stores now!

Critically acclaimed songwriter and mastermind behind The Magnetic Fields, Stephin Merritt's Obscurities is out today! Obscurities is a collection of Merritt’s hard-to-find recordings dating back to his time on Merge Records (1994-99) and prior.   More >

Wild Flag premieres album trailer!

The debut self-titled album from Wild Flag, the 4-piece Portland, OR- and Washington, DC-based rock group including Carrie Brownstein, Mary Timony, Rebecca Cole and Janet Weiss, will be in stores on September 13.   More >

"The Suburbs" Deluxe packaging details, album stream up now

On Tuesday August 2, to mark the 1-year anniversary of the release of Arcade Fire's epic, Album of the Year Grammy-winning album The Suburbs, Merge will release a deluxe edition that will include two brand new tracks recorded during The Suburbs album sessions ("Culture War" and "Speaking in Tongues" featuring David Byrne), an extended version of album track "Wasted Hours," Spike Jonze's short film, Scenes From The Suburbs, and an 80-page booklet as well as other exclusive content. The 30-minute film, inspired by The Suburbs, is directed by Spike Jonze and co-written by Spike Jonze, Will Butler and Win Butler.   More >