Superchunk’s "Here’s Where the Strings Come In" reissue gets “Clambake” bonus treatment just in time for Record Store Day!


Superchunk’s Here’s Where the Strings Come In has been out of print for years, and in celebration of Record Store Day, we are reissuing it on CD and LP. 

Remastered by Jason Ward at Chicago Mastering Company from the original 1/2” reels, the album will be available for the first time on 180-gram vinyl (with download coupon) and on CD newly packaged in LP-style cardboard sleeves. The heavy-duty vinyl jackets were reprinted by Stoughton Printing Co., the same plant that produced them for the original 1995 release.

The new and improved version of Here’s Where the Strings Come In will include exclusive acoustic demos of songs from the Strings sessions, as well as a free download of The Clambakes Vol. 5: Cup of Clams. Recorded on October 16, 2003, at the Cat’s Cradle in Carrboro, NC, by an unknown recordist, this live Superchunk performance was edited and mastered by Mac with additional editing by Brian Paulson.

Mac offers this description of the event: “This show took place as part of the small tour we did in 2003 in support of the Cup of Sand 2-CD singles and rarities compilation. Hence the setlist now appears kind of bizarre as it’s stocked with B-sides we’ve hardly ever played live (“White Noise”) and then-unreleased songs like ‘Knock Knock Knock,’ among more familiar numbers. Sure, there are a few haphazard moves, but it wouldn’t be a clambake otherwise… Hope you enjoy.”

Superchunk – The Clambakes Vol. 5: Cup of Clams
Live at the Cat’s Cradle, October 2003

1. Tiny Bombs
2. The Majestic
3. New Low
4. Watery Hands
5. Becoming a Speck
6. Knock Knock Knock
7. Hello Hawk
8. Cast Iron
9. White Noise
10. Nu Bruises
11. Screw It Up
12. The First Part
13. 100,000 Fireflies
14. Like a Fool
15. Freaks in Charge
16. Package Thief
17. Throwing Things