Tracey Thorn's "Tinsel and Lights" gets the deluxe treatment at iTunes

Tracey Thorn's

In addition to the original 12-track album, the newly released iTunes deluxe edition of Tracey Thorn's 2012 holiday album Tinsel and Lights includes the song “25th December,” which had been exclusive to the vinyl LP; acoustic radio session versions of three album tracks previously only available as streams through Tracey’s 2012 online Advent calendar; and the video for “Joy” filmed in France at Lille Christmas Market last year.

Featuring ten seasonal cover versions of songs by Dolly Parton, Joni Mitchell, Sufjan Stevens, Low and more as well as two new original tracks, Tinsel and Lights was produced by Ewan Pearson, and showcases Tracey’s famously rich vocals and contributions on guitar and piano. 

Fresh Air's Ken Tucker said of Tinsel and Lights, "Thorn's mixture of the eerie ethereal and hard-headed directness combines to form a Christmas album you'll want to pull out every year — and sometimes, I bet, even in warmer weather." The Los Angeles Times wrote, "A holiday collection for the thinking — and feeling — pop music aficionado, " and TIME joined in the praise writing, "Thorn explores the emotional highs and lows of the holidays, with sadness and glee thriving side by side on the album." 

Tinsel and Lights is available on CD and LP in the Merge store, and the deluxe digital edition is now available at iTunes

Track listing:

1. Joy (written by Tracey Thorn)
2. Hard Candy Christmas (originally performed by Dolly Parton)
3. Like a Snowman (written by Stephin Merritt)
4. Maybe This Christmas (written by Ron Sexsmith)
5. In the Cold, Cold Night (written by Jack White)
6. Snow (written by Randy Newman)
7. Snow in Sun (written by Green Gartside of Scritti Politti)
8. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas (holiday classic)
9. Tinsel and Lights (written by Tracey Thorn)
10. River (written by Joni Mitchell)
11. Taking Down the Tree (feat. Green Gartside) (written by Low)
12. Sister Winter (written by Sufjan Stevens)