Understanding Is Overrated

Dynamic Truths

CD $12.98 BUY + Wish List

Free Shipping on all U.S. orders

LBC003 | Release Date April 19, 2010

Limited Edition release from Little Black Cloud Recordings of Dynamic Truths complete recordings from 1996-1998! Here's what LBC has to say about it:

I would love to be able say if you loved Honor Role and Coral you will love the Dynamic Truths too but sadly these are bands still unknown to most indie music enthusiasts... even though Merge Records has been singing their praises and releasing many of their records over the years.

These were Richmond Virginia bands that pretzel knotted hardcore ALA Husker Du circa 1983 to a groundbreaking style now called math-rock with a biting vocal attack in the realm of Mark E Smith. To further add to the band's weight consider lyrics that read like Raymond Carver fronting Fugazi and there you have a rough idea of what Honor Role and Coral were about and then in turn what Dynamic Truths grew out of.

What amazes me most about these songs, 98% of which were never released, is how well they have survived the test of time. They could fit on a mix along with the best of 80's British post punk, 90's angsty indie rock like Superchunk or Circus Lupus, any band featuring John Reis or Rick Froberg, and then modern acts like Wilderness.

DT never toured and only played a small handful of shows during their time as an active band. The good news is with the release of this discography we can look forward to a reunion show or two.

1. You Take It All
2. Profit from Loss
3. Headed for the Halfway House
4. With the Angels
5. New Light
6. Uh Huh
7. I Want to Know
8. I've Got Your Psychic Friend
9. Behind the Killer...
10. Bus Stop
11. The Past Is Black & White
12. Good Time
13. Sailors of the Highway
14. Total Victory
15. Your House

Other Releases By Dynamic Truths