William Tyler reveals Impossible Truth release details & new song, "Cadillac Desert"

William Tyler reveals Impossible Truth release details & new song,

William Tyler will release Impossible Truth, his debut album for Merge on March 19. Impossible Truth was born on tour as William Tyler was reading two books with an odd kinship while on long and lonely Midwestern drives: Barney Hoskyns’ Hotel California and Mike Davis’ The Ecology of Fear.

Both center on the promise and psychosis of southern California, albeit from very different angles: Hoskyns tackles the naïve and narcissistic Laurel Canyon scene of the early seventies, while renowned social scientist Davis deals with the history of the destruction of Los Angeles, both in real and imagined disasters. The synchronistic tackling of these tomes inspired Tyler to compose a story rooted in apocalyptic expectation and bittersweet nostalgia. Or as Tyler puts it, this is “my ’70s singer-songwriter record; it just doesn’t have any words.” premiered "Cadillac Desert" from Impossible Truth, writing "'Cadillac Desert,' the first glimpse of Tyler's upcoming Impossible Truth, due out March 19 on Merge, is a layered, textured six-plus-minute track that gleams with enough surface-level beauty to appeal to listeners who'd rather zone out than admire technical prowess — audiences who just might reach for this when they're in the mood for the slide-guitar reveries of Beach House, the ambient singer-songwriter haze of Grouper, or the slow-motion fireworks of Galaxie 500."

Listen to "Cadillac Desert" from Impossible Truth now

Recorded and mixed at Beech House in Nashville and co-produced by Tyler and Mark Nevers, Impossible Truth features guest appearances from Chris Scruggs, Luke Schneider, Roy Agee, and Lambchop compatriot Scott Martin. 2010’s Behold the Spirit, William Tyler’s first album under his own name, was celebrated by Pitchfork as “the most vital, energized album by an American solo guitarist in a decade or more” and established him as a critical favorite, the picker who, according to his friend and tour mate M.C. Taylor from Hiss Golden Messenger, “connects the dots between Sandy Bull, Richard Thompson, Bruce Langhorne, and Reggie Young."

Pre-order Impossible Truth on CD or LP now in the Merge store. Also, throughout the holiday season, LP pre-orders will receive a free Merge slipmat. Don’t forget . . . the Merge Holiday Code works on pre-orders, too!

Track Listing:
1. Country of Illusion
2. The Geography of Nowhere
3. Cadillac Desert
4. We Can’t Go Home Again
5. A Portrait of Sarah
6. Hotel Catatonia
7. The Last Residents of Westfall
8. The World Set Free

William Tyler on tour:
March 7 Savannah, GA Savannah Stopover
March 8 Orlando, FL Will's Pub w/ Mount Moriah
March 9 Atlanta, GA Drunken Unicorn w/ Mount Moriah
March 13-17 Austin, TX SXSW