William Tyler shares "Whole New Dude" from upcoming 12-inch release Lost Colony

William Tyler shares

On April 29, William Tyler will release Lost Colony, the follow-up EP to his critically acclaimed 2013 release Impossible Truth. The limited-edition 12-inch features the new song “Whole New Dude,” a full-band reworking of “We Can’t Go Home Again” from Impossible Truth, and “Karussell,” a cover of a Michael Rother (Neu!) song.

Pitchfork premiered "Whole New Dude" describing the song as "a gorgeous, emotive guitar instrumental with incredible storytelling capacity." Listen & share below.

“Whole New Dude” was born from a conversation on tour with M.C. Taylor (Hiss Golden Messenger) about Julian Jaynes’ The Origin of Consciousness in the Breakdown of the Bicameral Mind and how ancient peoples slowly transformed into what we could consider more “modern” thinking. Tyler and Taylor joked that the title of the book should have been Whole New Dude, and it stuck. The song is a reworking of an older piece titled “Man of Oran” that was originally featured on 2008’s Deseret Canyon LP by The Paper Hats, which was the original recording moniker Tyler used for his solo work.

The 12-inch was recorded and mixed by Joe Pisapia at Middletree Studios in Nashville in late 2013. The full band for this recording is William Tyler on guitar and keyboard; Reece Lazarus (bass guitar); Jamin Orrall (drums, percussion); and Luke Schneider (pedal steel guitar). In addition, the album’s front and back cover photography is the work of Tyler’s younger sister Elise.

Pre-order the limited-edition Lost Colony 12-inch now in the Merge store, and don't miss William Tyler on tour beginning this weekend!

William Tyler on tour:
Mar 22 Seattle, WA – Neumos *
Mar 23 Portland, OR – Mississippi Studios *
Mar 25 San Francisco, CA – The Chapel *
Mar 26 Sonoma, CA – Gunlach-Bundschu Winery *
Mar 27 Santa Cruz, CA – Crepe Place
Mar 28 Los Angeles, CA – Hollywood Forever Cemetery *
Mar 29 Los Angeles, CA – Hollywood Forever Cemetery *
Mar 30 Los Angeles, CA – Sanctuary at Culver Palms Church of Christ
Mar 31 San Diego, CA – Soda Bar w/ New Madrid
Apr 01 Phoenix, AZ – The Western
Apr 02 Santa Fe, NM – High Mayhem
Apr 04 Austin, TX – Central Presbyterian Church *
Apr 06 Nashville, TN – Mercy Lounge *
Apr 07 Birmingham, AL – Sound & Page
Apr 08 Atlanta, GA – Terminal West *
Apr 09 Hattiesburg, MS – Green Room w/ Dave Marr
Apr 10 Asheville, NC– The Orange Peel *
Apr 11 Saxapahaw, NC – Haw River Ballroom *
Apr 13 Washington, DC – Sixth & I *
Apr 14 Philadelphia, PA – Underground Arts *
Apr 15 Brooklyn, NY – Music Hall of Williamsburg *
Apr 16 Brooklyn, NY - Union Pool
May 10 Los Angeles, CA – the Getty
* = w/ Daniel Rossen